The Board of Trustees oversees the operations of the Pennsylvania Medical Society. Each trustee—except the residents and fellows, medical student, and young physicians trustees—is elected for a term of four years.

Below is a listing of the current District and Section Trustees, as well as Board Officers.




Vice President

Charles Cutler, MD, MACP
Internal Medicine

Theodore A. Christopher, MD, FACEP
Emergency Medicine

Danae M. Powers, MD

Immediate Past President

Speaker, House of Delegates

Vice Speaker, House of Delegates


Scott E. Shapiro, MD
Cardiovascular Disease

John J. Pagan, MD, FACS
General Surgery

John W. Spurlock, MD
General Surgery

District Trustees

District 1 County map First District

 Lynn Michele Lucas-Fehm, MD, JD

District 2 County map  

Second District


Mark A. Lopatin, MD

District 3 County map  

Third District


Chad P. Walker, DO 

District 4 County Map  

Fourth District


Michael J. Paglia, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology

  District 5 County Map

Fifth District

Heath B. Mackley, MD
Radiation Oncology

  District 6 County Map

Sixth District




Currently Vacant

  District 7 County Map

Seventh District

James W. Redka, MD
Family Medicine

  District 8 County Map

Eighth District

John Gallagher, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology

  District 9 County map

Ninth District

Erick J. Bergquist, MD, PhD
Board Secretary
Infectious Diseases

District 10 County Map  

Tenth District

Donald C. Brown, MD
General Surgery

  District 11 County Map

Eleventh District

Edward M. Stafford, MD

District 12 County map  

Twelfth District

David A. Talenti, MD
Board Chair 
Email Dr. Talenti

District 13 County Map  

Thirteenth District

Amelia Pare, MD, FACS
Plastic Surgery



Section Trustees

Residents & Fellows Section

Tani Malhotra, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology

International Medical Graduates Section

Bindukumar Kansupada, MD, MBA
Cardiovascular Disease

Early Career Physicians Section

John M. Vasudevan, MD
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Medical Students Section

Cicily Vachaparambil
Medical Student

Specialty Trustees

Medical Specialties Medical Specialties Surgical Specialties Surgical Specialties

F. Wilson Jackson, III, MD
William A. VanDecker, MD

Joseph W. Sassani, MD, MHA

Andrew J. Richards, MD
Colon and Rectal Surgey

Primary Care Primary Care Primary Care Hospital-Based
Steven A. Shapiro, DO

 Dennis L. Gingrich, MD
 Family Medicine

Currently Vacant

Cathleen A. Woomert, MD, FACR 
Hospital-Based Psychiatry Obstetrics/Gynecology At Large

Joseph F. Answine, MD

Michael Feinberg, MD, PhD

Sherry L. Blumenthal, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology

Walter M. Klein, MD

  At Large AMA Delegation Chair 
Edward P. Balaban, DO
James A. Goodyear, MD, FACS
General Surgery