New Specialty Code for Hospitalists Took Effect April 1, 2017

Last Updated: Mar 17, 2017

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has established a new Hospitalist physician specialty code. The new Hospitalist code — C6 — took effect April 1, 2017. Billing systems should be updated to reflect this change.

Medicare will also recognize the new code of C6 as a valid specialty for the following edits:

  • Ordering/certifying Part B clinical laboratory and imaging, durable medical equipment (DME), and Part A home health agency (HHA) claims
  • Critical Access Hospital (CAH) Method II Attending and Rendering claims
  • Attending, operating, or other physician or non-physician practitioner listed on CAH claims

CMS offers more details regarding code C6 via its MLN Matters article available online here.

Leave a comment

Return to the art of medicine - MACRA

norcal advertisement
Norcal Mutual

Learn More 
norcal advertisement