Last Updated: May 6, 2019
New Pennsylvania legislation seeks to establish guidelines for medication-assisted treatment of opioid use disorder and require counseling for every patient receiving MAT.
The bill – House Bill (HB) 1358, sponsored by Rep. Kerry Benninghoff – was introduced on May 1, 2019 and referred to the House Human Services Committee.
What Would the MAT Bill Require?
The bill would require the Pa. Department of Drug and Alcohol programs, in consultation with other state agencies, to create rules and regulations for medication-assisted treatment. The regulations must include a requirement for counseling at a facility licensed by DDAP as follows:
- First Two Years of MAT: An average of 2.5 hours of psychotherapy per month, including an hour of individual therapy
- Third and Fourth Years of MAT: At least one hour per month of group or individual psychotherapy
- After Four Years of MAT: At least one hour of group or individual therapy every two months
Each of these provisions allow for additional psychotherapy to be provided as dictated by ongoing assessment of a patient.
HB 1358 would also require the prescriber to:
- Document the counseling in the patient’s medical record
- Provide a plan for gradual reduction and eventual removal from MAT and document that plan in the patient’s medical record
There are penalty provisions in the bill: $1,000 for a first violation; $3,000 for a second violation; and, for a third violation, DDAP shall notify the prescriber’s licensure board and the licensure board shall review the violation for consideration as unprofessional conduct by the prescriber.
The Pennsylvania Medical Society’s (PAMED) Legislative Task Force will review this bill and report its findings and recommendations to PAMED’s Board of Trustees.
PAMED will monitor the status of HB 1358 and share any updates with members.