Return to Virtual Testimony Home


If you are neither for nor against the subject in question: please select for/against and state your position in the comments below

You must be a PAMED Member to access




Success! Thanks for filling out our form!

PROPOSED BYLAWS AMENDMENT SUBJECT FIVE – PROVIDING FLEXIBILITY FOR BUSINESS CONDUCTED BY THE SOCIETY AND PROVIDING FOR FIXED TERMS OF OFFICE

Read the full document 

 

Overview
In response to the pandemic, the Committee found that a large number of business items currently are tied to the annual meeting of the House. For a meeting of the House to constitute an annual meeting, a minimum of three items must be addressed: elections, proposed bylaws amendments (if any), and reports/resolutions (if any). Because of these requirements, the Society was unable to consider an annual meeting in 2020 consisting of just elections, for example. Providing more flexibility to the Society would enable it to be better prepared should a situation arise in the future that limits the ability of the Society to hold one annual meeting that encompasses all of the business of the House.

To that end, the Committee is proposing to “de-couple” the bylaws. The de-coupling will still authorize the Society to have one annual meeting as has been the norm. However, it will also provide the ability for the Society to hold multiple, focused meetings of the House should that need arise. While currently authorized, the proposals will nonetheless clarify that any House business may be conducted in-person, on-line, or through another approved method. This flexibility is needed in keeping financial implications in mind, as holding multiple, in-person meetings of the House would not be financially feasible for the Society.

It is important to re-iterate that the Committee is not advocating for ending the annual in- person meeting of the House. The annual meeting is an important function of the Society and should continue. However, in keeping with the times and being proactive should another event like the current pandemic occur, the Society needs the flexibility to be able to quickly move to alternate meeting settings as needed, including the ability to hold limited, focused meetings, such as the holding of elections separate from other business. Regardless of whether the Society holds one meeting or several, the Society will still be required annually to hold elections, consider proposed bylaws amendments (if any), and consider reports/resolutions (if any).

To accomplish this goal, the Committee is proposing to remove many of the requirements throughout the bylaws that must take place at the annual meeting set forth in Chapter VI of the bylaws. Throughout these proposals, reference to the annual meeting has been deleted and replaced with terminology such as “meeting,” “election meeting,” or another appropriate phrase. The same business will still be mandated, such as the holding of elections, consideration of resolutions/reports, and proposed bylaws amendments, but the mandate to conduct this business at one meeting will be optional, though still contemplated.

Chapter VI Summary
As indicated above, the Committee proposes to revise Chapter VI to de-couple the many requirements that must take place at the annual meeting. While the annual meeting should take place as currently constituted, the ability to hold additional meetings would provide more flexibility when the need arises. The same business will be conducted each calendar year; however, these bylaws proposals will allow the Society to conduct business more easily at other times while still meeting its mandate under these bylaws. A calendar year, which means January 1 to December 31, is being proposed to simplify the business of the Society by making it easier to keep track of terms of office, business requirements, and other duties as set forth in these bylaws.
Please indicate whether you are testifying FOR (PRO) or AGAINST (CON) this resolution:
Please check


This subject is no longer open for commenting

VoteUsernameName
Thumbs Downmichael.yu@fccc.eduJ Q Yu
Thumbs Downbridgetdurkin@gmail.comBridget Durkin
Thumbs Upkristymshine@gmail.comKristy Shine
Thumbs Upvinayak.ahluwalia@pennmedicine.upenn.eduVinayak Ahluwalia
Thumbs Upbmacleod60@gmail.comBruce MacLeod
Thumbs Downjcristol@gmail.comJames Cristol
Thumbs Downdmehrotr1@gmail.comDeepak Mehrotra
Thumbs Downeai02014@mymail.pomona.eduEvan Iliakis
Thumbs Updrcharlescutler@gmail.comCharles Cutler
Thumbs Upbhannah57@outlook.comBrian Hannah
Thumbs Downcmb064@jefferson.eduCameron Blazoski
Thumbs Updrdankimball@gmail.comDaniel Kimball
Thumbs Updellavecchia@prodigy.netMichael DellaVecchia
Thumbs Downmiyamoc@tuhs.temple.edu 
Thumbs Downmustfamanzur@gmail.comMustfa Manzur
Thumbs Uprobertsab66@gmail.comAndrew Roberts
Thumbs Downdavid.sass@jefferson.eduDavid Sass
Thumbs Downshai_vaidya@hotmail.comShailendra Vaidya
Thumbs Downeherns@aol.comEnrique Hernandez
Thumbs Downtud55207@temple.eduJessica Fleischer
Thumbs UpYentli.SotoAlbrecht@pennmedicine.upenn.eduYentli Soto Albrecht
Thumbs Downricamozu@hotmail.comRicardo Morgenstern
Thumbs UpAnthony.Padula@IBX.comAnthony M. Padula
Thumbs Downjfleischer@fleischermd.comScott Fleischer
Thumbs Upkcj47@drexel.eduChristian Johnson
Thumbs Upgarrettko@upmc.eduKevin Garrett
Thumbs Upckim@uroassoc.comCadence Kim
Thumbs Uphondo50510@aol.comKenneth Wasserman
Thumbs Upspermut@temple.eduStephen Permut
Thumbs Downvandecwa@tuhs.temple.edu 
Thumbs Downnatalia.ortiz@temple.eduNatalia Ortiz
Thumbs Updrsfried@hotmail.comMark Friedlander
Thumbs Downbradford.morris@pennmedicine.upenn.eduBradford Morris
Thumbs DownGmparker1@gmail.comGregory Parker
Thumbs Upnatehoff@umich.eduNathan Hoff
Thumbs Downryan.mascio@gmail.comRyan Mascio
Thumbs Upv.hall.md@gmail.comVirginia Hall
Thumbs Downbrfram@gmail.comBrianna Fram
Thumbs Downheather.ann.hartman@gmail.comHeather Hartman
Thumbs Downtheodore.christopher@jefferson.edu 
Thumbs Downgayathri.vijayakumar8@gmail.comGayathri Vijayakumar
Thumbs Downmckaylamawn@gmail.comMcKayla Mawn
Thumbs Downbucci.domenick@gmail.comDomenick Bucci

You must select a position (for/against) before commenting