State Board of Medicine Issues Proposed Regulations Regarding Child Abuse Reporting

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2021

rules-regulations-articleThe State Board of Medicine (the “Board”) has issued proposed regulations that update the Board’s existing regulations on the subject of child abuse reporting in order to become consistent with amendments to the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL). These updates include, incorporating into the Board’s regulations, the statutory requirement imposed on all health-related boards to require education on child abuse recognition and reporting for licensees who are considered mandated reporters under the CPSL.

The full proposed regulations can be accessed here.

The proposed regulations were published in the Jan. 30, 2021 edition of the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Background on the Proposed Rulemaking

All health-related licensees/certificate holders are considered “mandatory reporters” under the CPSL. As mandatory reporters, the CPSL requires all persons applying for issuance of an initial license or certificate from any of the health-related boards to complete, as a condition of licensure, 3 hours of training approved by the Department of Human Services (DHS) on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting.

Furthermore, as a condition of biennial renewal, health-related licensees are required to complete 2 hours of approved training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting from an approved provider. 

The Board’s regulations regarding child abuse reporting have not been updated since these amendments to the CPSL. The proposed regulations update the Board’s existing regulations to be consistent with the requirements of the CPSL.

Note that the abovementioned requirements are enumerated in the proposed regulations and are required of all licenses under the purview of the Board. These requirements have already been required of Board licensees for the last few licensure cycles. All Boards subject to the CPSL requirements are in the process of issuing proposed regulations to update their existing provisions to become consistent with the CPSL’s requirements.

How to Submit Comments

Members wishing to submit their own comments must do so by March 1, 2021 to:

Via mail:

Regulatory Counsel

State Board of Medicine

P.O. Box 69523

Harrisburg, PA 17106-9523,

Or via email:


Comments should reference the following:

State Board of Medicine

Proposed Regulations: Child Abuse Reporting

Regulation# I6A-4941

Where Can I Find Additional Information?

For a comprehensive list of regulatory items that PAMED is tracking, please visit PAMED's Regulatory Update.

For further information on legal topics, visit PAMED’s Legal Resource Center at PAMED's Legal Resource Center provides quality, timely legal advocacy and resources for member physicians who practice in Pennsylvania.

Login to be able to comment

Leave a comment